Sunday Night Pasta

Tonight I made pasta. And, I made it from scratch. And, I made up my own recipe. And, it was absolutely, positively delicious!

Okay, I didn’t measure anything, so here is my attempt to write it down.

Sunday Night Pasta

Ingredients

Meatballs (I only used about 1/4 of this recipe. It was leftover from Pioneer Woman’s Italian Meatball Soup) :

  • 3/4 pounds Ground Beef
  • 1/2 cups Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 3 Tablespoons Fresh Parsley, Minced
  • 1 whole Egg
  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Black Pepper
  • ¼ teaspoons Ground Oregano
  • 2 teaspoons Lemon Juice

Pasta:

  • Gluten-free pasta- spiral pasta
  • Olive oil
  • 1 6oz. can tomato sauce
  • 4 diced up tomatoes
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 onion chopped up
  • 4 garlic cloves chopped up
  • 1/2 green squash chopped up
  • 1 bay leave
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • parmesan cheese

To make meatballs, combine all meatball ingredients and mix well. Shape into small balls and chill for 30 minutes.

While meatballs are hanging out in the fridge, boil some water for the pasta. Cook up the pasta. When finished cooking, strain and toss with olive oil. Set aside.

In olive oil, saute onion and garlic for one minute. Add squash and saute for 20 seconds. Add tomatoes and tomato sauce. Add water and stir all ingredients. Now add all spices. Bring to boil. Turn heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes.

While sauce is simmering, cook up those meatballs! Heat olive oil on medium heat, and throw those babies in there! Cook them through, then turn off the pan. You may think I’m gross, but I let them sit in the yummy beef oil until later. I know, I am totally going to have cholesterol issues at a young age!

Now, add heavy cream to sauce and stir around. Let it simmer for 5 minutes. Add pasta noodles. Add Parmesan cheese (as much as you like!) Now, add meatballs. Stir it all up, and serve hot.

This delicious is absolutely filling, my husband kissed me for making it (Okay, he does that even when food isn’t that awesome), and I cannot wait, CANNOT WAIT, to eat the leftovers tomorrow!! Wish I were an awesome photographer like Pioneer Woman so I could show you how pretty it looked. Please do yourself a favor and make this. And, remember, I’m not sure on the spices, so follow your heart as I did.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food and Drink, Recipes

Leave a Reply

