God’s Saint at Work

Today I’ve been more humbled than I’ve been in a long time. I’ve been more blessed than I’ve been in a long time as well. Amazingly enough, these two go hand and hand.

You see, today we received our very first package. When our door bell rang we didn’t quite know what to do. It’s never rung before! We kind of looked at each other, and I answered it. There is was. A beautiful, lovely box with our names on it. After a bout of miscommunication and awkward body language between the postman and myself, I signed the slip and Scott and I gathered around the box to see what was inside. We both were like little kids at Christmas!!!

Our first box

Well, we opened it and its contents blew our minds! With each and every one we were oohhing and aaahhing.” Gluten-free pancakes!!!!” “Coffee, smell it! Coffee, glorious Dunkin donuts coffee!” “Gluten-free pizza crust!!! We are going to have pizza! Oh wow!!” Seriously, it went on and on… until I just started crying hysterically!!! Scott hugged me, and I just kept crying because it was the sweetest gift!

I exclaimed to Scott, “This is so nice!! This is JUST the nicest thing!! Scott, what is God trying to teach us through this gift of generosity??!!”

Me smelling the coffee. After this picture I laid down and died. Okay, not really. Instead, I brewed us up some!

You see, this was not just any box from any ole’ person. This was an INCREDIBLY, thoughtfully constructed box of gifts from a sister in Christ- a sister I’ve not yet met. These gifts were not only expensive, but were incredibly unique to Scott and I, and showed such care. I was blown away. I don’t know when I’ve ever experienced such generosity. And, from someone I’ve yet to meet. From someone that I’ve never even done anything nice for. From someone who didn’t owe me one. I just couldn’t believe it.

I asked Scott in all seriousness, “What does God want us to learn from this?” Of course we know the Sunday school answer, “Be more generous.” And, in all honesty, we would consider ourselves generous people. But, this is making me search my heart and pray about what I can learn from this.

Galations 6: 9-10 “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. 10Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.”

That action is what this verse is. So humbling, and such a blessing.

6 Comments

Filed under Blessed, Our Daily Life, To learn

6 responses to “God’s Saint at Work

  1. Incredible šŸ™‚ Enjoy your pesto pizza…I am encouraged!

  2. Maureen

    How about this? God is nuts about you and delights to bless you through his people.

  3. Carissa Potter

    Wow! What a small world! Melanie is a great friend of mine! Totally something she would do! So awesome!

  4. GREAT! AND, I saw a plain illustration for the gospel when you were saying that you were undeserving and that you had never done anything nice for this person. Just as we have never done anything to deserve Christ’s favor and grace, but he lavishes it on us. So glad for your encouraging package, Ranks.

  5. Yan

    I just left a long message but was erased. šŸ˜¦
    Let me just say one thing. You look incredibly pretty in these pictures, especially with you hair all back.

  6. Wow, Dunkin Donuts coffee… how special. Glad you felt loved! Miss you

Leave a Reply

