Isn’t it Ironic? Don’tcha think?

These are in the oven. The world is looking brighter compared to last night’s fiasco.

You see, I was rushing from one lesson to another. I knew I had a one hour block to get to my next lesson, and I knew that every minute was crucial.

However, the tram that I was supposed to ride did not. If I spoke Hungarian I could tell you the exact reason why the tram decided not to venture in the direction I needed to go, but the announcement was beyond my comprehension.

There was no bus going my way- shockingly- and so it was me and my heels on our own. We ran/walked the two miles, in the freezing cold, through the snow, uphill, dodging bullets…. okay, okay. The last three are not true, but boy, oh boy, did they feel true.

I arrived with fifteen minutes to spare; apparently I’m really fast in heels! I asked the receptionist what room my lesson would be in and she said that my student had just called to cancel. A certain Alanis Morisette song started playing in my head. I went to the restroom and looked in the mirror at my disheveled appearance. My eyes were bloodshot, my hair a mess, and I was downright tired from a long week. I looked like a stoner in heels.

So, I threw in the towel, went home, and spent the evening with my hubby.

2 Comments

Filed under Cultural Mishaps, European Travel, Our Daily Life, Teaching

2 responses to “Isn’t it Ironic? Don’tcha think?

  1. Good choice! No more heels for these teaching gigs, tho! We are hikers, remember?

  2. Lindsey

    You are a fast walker. I remember when Katie B. would make you so mad when she would saunter through the campus to class. You would eventually abandon us and make it to class well before it started. Oh the memories. 🙂 Miss you, Chap!!!

Leave a Reply

