December Ramblings

A few ramblings since I haven’t posted in a month:

1) Today is St. Nicholas Day. St. Nicholas came last night and filled every Hungarian child’s boots with loads of candy. If I were an elementary school teacher, I would call in sick every December 6th. Those kids are going to be nuts! Wondering who brings the presents on Christmas morning? The Hungarian answer: Baby Jesus.

2) Yesterday I baked these cookies.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cranberry-Orange-Cookies/Detail.aspx

I highly, highly recommend them. They will bring tasty joy to your world.

3) Not sure why I’m so obsessed with PW, but hey, at least I’m honest! Her newest book is coming out February 1st. To pre-order or not to pre-order this book?

4) Currently Starbucks is serving Toffee Nut Lattes here in Hungary. Don’t judge me for spending $1,344.56 dollars there this past month. (For those of you who are now questioning my self-control issues, that was a joke. I could never afford to spend that much money at Starbucks, but I’ve heard of people who can control their dreams…. I’m working on controlling mine so at least 1/3 of my life I can afford such delicacies.)

5) Scott is working his butt off! If anyone is wondering how to say, “My father’s brother has three black horses that are for sale” in Arabic, I know a handsome translator. Even more important, if any of you are dying to know how to say, “Gee golly, my favorite sultan of all time is ______” in Ottoman Turkish, I know a handsome translator.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6) I’m one gift away from completing my Christmas shopping! Whew!

7) Back to PW. My friend Jennifer and I are going to make a PW themed Christmas dinner this year.Yummy. However, I’m conflicted. Gluten-free and PW don’t have a lot in common. Hmmm…

8) I’m learning Hungarian. I can’t say anything all that cool yet, but it’s one of the world’s top 5 most difficult languages, so cut me a little slack! Well, I take that back. I can say, “I am a window. You are a door. You are a pretty door. I am an ugly pencil.” I’m going far in life.

9) I love being an English teacher. My students are very cool, and I’m preparing for motherhood. Last week, my student asked me to explain a very, very embarrassing word to her (if you would like to know, please email me). I suppressed my awkward laughter and explained it like a big girl. I also explained her the noun and verb forms of the word, and indicated some word associations. Sometimes I impress myself.

Happy St. Nicholas Day!

3 Comments

Filed under Blessed, Culture, Food and Drink, Our Daily Life, Recipes

3 responses to “December Ramblings

  1. Holy Cow! You always impress me. Thank you for finally writing the IMPORTANT stuff – I do need your Starbucks, teaching, and other BUD Miscellany or how else am I going to be sure it’s you writing these posts and not some imposter? Nope. These have to be you!

  2. Megan Renck

    Hi Melissa,

    I love PW too. I think she is a wonderful woman and that there is nothing wrong with admiring her. I’m pre ordering her new book. I actually read the 40+ blog entries that she wrote that gave way to the book. The story is magical, and heartbreaking, and I cannot wait to read about their first year being married too.

    Praying for you and your husband. I hope that God is blessing you beyond measure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

