Christmas is right around the corner.

And, boy oh boy, I can’t wait! I’m so looking forward to time with my hubby, going to Velence for two days of fun with Jennifer and Daniel, and hopefully going on a day trip to Vienna. In addition to these fun-filled shenanigans, I’m looking forward to resting.

I was talking to my dear mother-in-law, Maureen, about these past six months, and she pointed out to me how incredibly transition-packed they have been. Here’s the short list:

1) Indonesia

2) Resignation from job that I loved 😦

3) Selling all our earthly possessions

4) Road trip across America to say goodbye to so many that we love and hold dear in our hearts

5) Scott starting doctoral program

6) Me working 3 part-time jobs as an English teacher

7) Different financial challenges than before

8) Illness- I’ve had something going on in my body since I returned from Indonesia. Not sure what

9) Missing out on babies, pregnancies, hard times and good times with those we love

I thank the Lord for His incredible grace during this time. I hadn’t even realized all that we’d been through. For some reason transition seems so normal at this point in my life. At any rate, I’m looking forward to a relaxing Christmas holiday.

1 Comment

Filed under European Travel, Our Daily Life

One response to “Christmas is right around the corner.

  1. And to my mind, you didn’t even list some of the BIG ones, such as:

    1. Not just traveling through, but actually settling in a non-English speaking country — instead of (like I did) keeping life on hold knowing you’ll “get back to normal” in a couple of months.
    2. Pushing yourself to become a speaker of Hungarian, which is among the top five most difficult languages in the world to learn. (I know how uncomfortable it was for me to daily feel so dumb, not able to speak or understand or read or write.)
    3. Instead of hiding out, actually getting out and “doing business” in the country, in the form of completing residence applications, getting medical care, confronting security systems (like subway police), doing banking, mastering currency exchanges, choosing a housing rental, making recipe and cooking conversions, even getting pedicures, etc. (Thanks for doing all these things so my way there was so very easy.)
    4. Navigating systems/experiences that exist in the U.S., but you didn’t have to do before, like living with no car or making “canned” pumpkin from scratch or finding and beginning to establish a new church family and friends.
    5. Adjusting entertainment, information, etc. choices since you can’t just flip on the TV or expect an amazon.com book delivery in a couple of days or pop into a bookstore or library for most any English book or mag you’d like (think Real Simple, etc.). or pick up the phone to call a friend or colleague.

    These are barely a start on a list of changes you’ve undergone in the second half of this year. The amazement to me isn’t that your body is asking you to rest up a bit; the amazement is that you’ve functioned so beautifully and with such strength — and I say this not as mom-in-law, but as a CM pro! What I saw during my Budapest visit was how healthy each of you is as a person, and how healthy you are together. You’ve gotten over a big hump of “newness” in this last several months; you clearly deserve a pedicure! Or a great big dose of Viennese chocolates!

Leave a Reply

