Cleansing

Since December 29th I’ve been partaking in a somewhat gruesome cleanse for the purposes of restoring my body to full health. The past six months have been a roller coaster of failed health for me, and I thought it was high time that I did something about it.

There are so many out there to choose from, but I decided to go with an anti-fungal cleanse to see if fungus was the culprit for my ailments. I’m happy to report that after a month of eating on veggies, meat, nuts, eggs and plain yogurt, I feel exponentially better! Now I’ve moved on to stage 2 of the cleanse, and I can eat green apples, oatmeal, beans and brown rice again.

Giving up coffee and sugar was pretty challenging at first, but I’m so glad I did. I feel great, and am now contemplating what life is going to be like after this cleanse. Will I give up white sugar forever? What about other stuff? I suppose it all depends on how my body reacts once I start eating more fruits and carbs, but for now I’m seriously considering a permanent life change. We are, after all, what we eat.

Yesterday I stumbled upon 25 reasons sugar is bad for you. It’s hard to make a case for continued ingestion when science points towards failed health as a result of consuming it.

In other news, I started making my own yogurt, and I’m having so much fun with it! It’s so easy, cheap and delicious- you should give it a try if you like yogurt!<!–p>

3 Comments

Filed under Food and Drink, Our Daily Life, To learn

3 responses to “Cleansing

  1. leslie b

    Yay for you! We’re starting a cleanse type diet too, as soon as I store up enough stock to get us through the first week or two of it. I am so excited to see the differences it makes! Ours will consist of no grains for quite some time (like 1 yr!), which will probably be the hardest part, but I’m convinced this will help our family immensely… and any future Blairs! I’m sure you feel the same way about any future Ranks???? 🙂

  2. Leslie Blair

    How have you been making all of the yummy treats you mentioned below but are on a cleanse diet?

    • Hi Les,

      I haven’t been making those treats while on the cleanse. The cranberry treats were December specialties. The cleanse will be over in two weeks, and I’m trying now to learn about how to make yummy treats without all the sugar! Have you started GAPS yet?

Leave a Reply

