Brown is better…or not

I always, always, always thought that brown sugar was in some way healthier than white sugar. This morning, Scott asked me why brown sugar is healthier than white sugar. I responded with, “I’m not sure. It’s just one of those things that everyone knows is true, but we don’t know why.” Then, I gave some analogy that I absolutely can’t remember right now.

Well, I told him I’d do some research. After a quick google search, I came upon an article about how sugar is made. Please read this.

I was shocked! How can something that tastes so good be SO BAD for us? And, why oh why did I really think brown sugar is healthier than white sugar? Who fed me such lies? Ugh! I feel like I need to go take a shower or something. Yuck.

2 Comments

Filed under Food and Drink, To learn

2 responses to “Brown is better…or not

  1. Katie

    So… brown sugar is as bad as white sugar, but it sounds like raw sugar is still bad for us, but less processed? hmm. I never knew there were so many chemicals used to make sugar!!

  2. Pingback: A New Year in Istanbul and I have one goal | Istanbul Moms

Leave a Reply

