Missing persons alert

Who is the missing person? It’s me. I don’t know who I am anymore! Scott and I continually joke about how we don’t quite enjoy Pregnant Melissa- she’s moody, an intensely picky eater, tired all the time… need I say more? The funny/tragic thing is that I was fully convinced that by the second trimester I would be my pre-pregnant self again. I thought I’d be running, eating salads, checking a zillion things off of my daily to do list. Au contrere. I’m trying to come to terms with the fact that I’m a month in (18 weeks) and in serious need of some pregnancy yoga or something. Not to mention another box of tissues. And some more processed macaroni and cheese. Who am I?!

However, not a day goes by that I’m not thankful for our baby. Not one day. I know I’m blessed. Just this past week I started feeling kicks for the first time. I probably wouldn’t have noticed it, but I was laying awake from jet lag with my hand on top of my uterus. Then, wham! And another. And five more. I knew it wasn’t anything other than our baby, and I was elated. Every day since he/she gives me little kicks. It’s the sweetest thing in the world.

This week we also had an ultrasound. Here in Hungary you get an ultrasound every time you go, but this was only our second since I was in the states for the summer. Our baby is growing well and is healthy. Our doctor told us, “The baby has 10 fingers. 6 on one hand and 4 on the other. Now, we can make a deal to make it 5 and 5.” Our doctor is a jokster which I appreciate!

Here is our baby at 17 weeks.

This was me at 16 weeks. I pretty much look the same now. Not quite the size of a refrigerator yet 😉

1 Comment

Filed under Blessed, Our Daily Life

One response to “Missing persons alert

  1. Maureen Rank

    As anyone can see, an exceptionally beautiful baby!!

Leave a Reply

