Thank you Tower of Babel

According to this article, Hungarian is the third most difficult language for English speakers to master in the world. Couple this with the fact that learning it will only enable you to speak to 9 million more people (6 million Hungarians speak English), you might ask yourself what’s the point? That’s why most expats don’t endeavor to learn much Hungarian.

Although I’ve only informally studied Hungarian, I’m still trying to learn as I go. Since it’s the 3rd most difficult language in the world, you won’t give me grief for being proud of myself for after one year of living here having a complete and understandable conversation with the pharmacist about calcium and magnesium. In Spanish or German, after one year this might be pathetic. But, Hungarian, not so bad. Now, if I could only remember how to say “go” in Hungarian….

In other language news, my husband can put on his CV that he knows 8 languages- several of which he has the level of intermediate or higher. I suppose all of his hard work is paying off! There is no one I’d rather have with me in a Turkish, Armenian, Iranian, or any Arabic speaking country’s airport.

2 Comments

Filed under Our Daily Life, To learn

2 responses to “Thank you Tower of Babel

  1. Maureen Rank

    Hmmm. The article describes Hingarian as ” a language that is sure to defeat all but the most gifted linguist.” I think that ought to gobon YOUR CV! I’ve heard you order Starbucks in Hungarian and get it right. Impressive.

  2. i like this article. i envy scott’s smarts and discipline.
    -jesse

Leave a Reply

