As Thanksgiving draws near, let’s be thankful

Today I’m feeling very thankful for the wonderful opportunities I’ve had in my lifetime to meet internationals from all over the world. Particularly, I’m thankful for the time I spent volunteering and teaching with World Relief, a wonderful organization funded by American tax dollars and donations, that helps refugees from all over the world escape war, famine and poverty. I’m thankful because my experience gives me great perspective concerning the hard times Americans are currently facing. Although I do feel for those who’ve lost homes, jobs and the like, I find it comforting to remember that the guy who is the worst off in America has it a million times better than the richest in many other nations. I’m thankful for government dollars that helped pay for my college education (along with me working tons of part time jobs!), thankful for the free braces I got on my teeth at 15, and thankful for the free public education I received and complained about for 12 years.

It’s sometimes good to step back, to remember all we have, and to be thankful. What are you thankful for this year?

2 Comments

Filed under Blessed, Our Daily Life, To learn

2 responses to “As Thanksgiving draws near, let’s be thankful

  1. Maureen Rank

    I’m thankful for you!

  2. jennilynnp

    I’m thankful for the family we have in the Lord. I wouldn’t be who I am today without people like you:)

Leave a Reply

