It’s all going to be alright

I’m high on life. Today was one of those days that reminded me that everything is going to be okay.

First of all, I bumped into my neighbor, Julie. Anytime I see her it’s a delight. Even though we’re speaking a weird conglomeration of English, Hungarian, and German, we manage to communicate just fine. We chatted for 40 minutes, mostly in Hungarian, about babies (her son’s wife is pregnant with a boy!), her granddaughter, vaccinations, home remedies (she said onion tea is good for sore throats), how young she looks for being 59, how she sewed clothes to pay the doctor bills, and much more. She is quite funny and we had lots of laughs.

The funniest thing was when I got out of the elevator and saw her. I immediately wanted to warn her that someone had been smoking in the elevator and that it smelled. Well, once I saw the look on her face I died. “Was it you smoking in the elevator?” She confessed that indeed it was, but that she only smokes 5 cigarettes a day so it’s not so bad. Ha!

Today I crossed a huge task off my to-do list. I visited our pediatrician once again planning only to make an appointment for later. She saw me the minute I walked in, and since no one was waiting had me sit down for a chat. She answered all my questions, was extremely accommodating and helpful, and at the end apologized that her English isn’t so great. I said, “No, thank you. We are in Hungary and you are speaking English with me! It is I who should apologize!” Something I love is that her English isn’t amazing, so we also can speak a little mixture of Hungarian-English which is fun for me. I was nervous that she would think I was crazy with some of my questions, but she didn’t even blink.

Well, she blinked with the first one. “I might have my baby at home. Can you bring the necessary paperwork?” After the blink she was very helpful.

Then, I asked about circumcision in case it’s a boy. I thought she was going to think I was cruel because Europeans usually don’t circumcise their boys, but turns out I’m going to the right lady. See, she is also the pediatrician for the Jewish quarter, so she knows all about this and can give me any information I need. On a side note, I mentioned that I don’t know the sex of our baby. She immediately took off her wedding band and asked if I wanted to know. I said, “I wouldn’t like to know.” She told me about her very reliable ring test. She said it is more reliable than any other method. I believed her, so much so that I declined because I really want to be surprised in January. Anyways, just thought that was something funny that probably wouldn’t happen in the States.

Next, I asked if we could wait to do the TB shot. They usually do it immediately here, but I asked to wait for six weeks. She said, “yes.” And, she added, “If the hospital doesn’t believe you or if there are any problems, I’ll give you a letter to give them.”

These were all questions I was nervous about. You just never know how others will respond. In addition, the mindset for doctors is that once you choose them, you shouldn’t question them. They are the expert, not you. But, she didn’t give off this air at all. She was absolutely willing to endure my strange customs!

Once the baby is born she’ll come to our house. I’ll send her a text message and she’ll come! Is that not the coolest thing in the entire world?!

3 Comments

Filed under Culture, Our Daily Life, Pregnancy and Baby, Teaching, We love this land

3 responses to “It’s all going to be alright

  1. Denise

    wonderful:)))

  2. Brittany

    Super exciting and hilarious as usual!

  3. Sara

    Great questions, sister -can tell you guys have done your research & the Lord is caring for you all along the way! I think the biggest push-back we got with both babies was declining the eye goop medicine -we were confident our newborns didn’t need it, but the docs definitely gave us the sideways “look” 🙂 Oh, a small little tidbit from my doula with Myra -she made me talk to Myra by name & out loud through labor to help me connect with her & realize we were working together -awkward at first, but tremendously helpful mentally, actually…
    Rootin’ for ya! xoxo

Leave a Reply

