Loving One’s Toil

I’ve been reading the book of Ecclesiastes lately because I find it comforting while selling most of our possessions, packing our life into six suitcases, and saying goodbye to a place that is so dear to us.

While reading today 5:18 caught my eye. “Behold, what I have seen to be good and fitting is to eat and drink and find enjoyment in all the toil with which one toils under the sun the few days of his life that God has given him, for this is his lot.” I suppose this is a good saying. After all, how much of our lives will we spend working? Might as well enjoy it!

I’ve had some great jobs in my life. In my old blog I talk about my work with refugees.  Before that I had the great opportunity to work with international students at CBU. And, before moving to Hungary I worked as a Residence Director and had the privilege of mentoring the most phenomenal RAs on the planet. Now, I’m moving on to another fun job, for now one that doesn’t pay, but one that I think I’ll find absolutely rewarding.

I’m starting a resource for women living in Istanbul called Istanbulmoms. While living here in Hungary I was absolutely blessed by Budapest Moms and wanted to find a resource similar to that to help me as a mama in Istanbul. But, as I searched, and searched, and searched some more I realized that nothing along those lines exists in Istanbul. There are offshoots of other resources, but nothing devoted to mamas raising their kids in Istanbul. I wouldn’t want to do a job that takes time away from Ellie because raising her is my priority, and the cool thing about this is that it will be an outpouring of me raising my daughter. As I discover and untangle the mysteries of raising a child in Istanbul, I’ll blog about it, invite others to blog about their experiences, and hopefully help mamas like me who were living in a foreign city, without a clue, ready to pop, and nervous as heck! Additionally, it will be a fun way to chronicle our learning along the way.

All that to say, I think this will be toil that I’ll look back on as time and investment well spent.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Blessed, Our Daily Life, To learn

4 responses to “Loving One’s Toil

  1. This is so great, Melissa. I pray that your toil will be rewarding and joyful.

  2. Josh Howeth

    This is so awesome Melissa.

Leave a Reply

