Exactly!

I received this card this week and I framed it. It was a lovely reminder of the rightness that this place and time is for our lives despite the fact that it’s really tough. It also was a reminder that there are others that believe that we are where we are supposed to be and are doing what we should be doing. I’m thankful for those that love us and are walking with us on this fantastic and interesting journey!
I just spent the better part of 2 hours planning a lesson to help a young woman dominate the TOEFL exam (an exam to determine a student’s ability to succeed at a university that utilizes English for instruction). I didn’t get around to studying much Turkish this evening which is a shame because the more I study the more I realize I don’t know and need to study. Maybe I’ll watch the news after I blog. Last week I learned “patlama” which means explosion. It came in handy in class when I was able to articulate to my teacher how I felt when the lesson was over- brain explosion- beyin patlama!

We’ve had wonderful guests this week, 2 of my best friend’s husbands, who are also my friends. I’ve been having fun stuffing them with Turkish breakfast and one day pumpkin pancakes thanks to sweet friends who sent over maple syrup and other goodies from the USA!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday I got a taste of celebrating the “Turkish Christmas” with my friends Elif and Selin. Unfortunately I didn’t take any photos, but Elif took one of Ellie getting gobbled up by our new Turkish friend Sezan who was also with us. It was a lot of fun and there was much tea and baklava involved. Yum. Yum.

And, big news. Today was Ellie’s first swing ride! Here she is with her little buddy Joel. Now, if they get married, not to jump the gun, but wouldn’t this be the cutest slide show picture ever?!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Blessed, Culture, European Travel, Our Daily Life, Pregnancy and Baby, Teaching, We love this land

One response to “Exactly!

  1. Allison

    That card is such a great reminder, especially for new moms! Glad you are enjoying Turkish holidays and friends. I am so amazed you are learning Turkish. You are my hero. Love to your sweet family!

Leave a Reply

