Life is Never Dull

Living life in Istanbul is many things, but dull is not one of them. Everyday it seems that something seemingly out of the ordinary happens, and I thought it time I document some of these things before they become so normal I forget there was a time they weren’t.

The other day I was walking to the seaside with my friend, Zeynep. I was pushing Ellie in the stroller and we walked along enjoying the beautiful day and conversation circling around topics with a depth that only friends of 9 years can share. Out of nowhere a woman approached and asked while looking at Ellie, “Eleanor, isn’t it?” My friend was amazed. “You are famous in this neighborhood?!” The truth is no one gives a lick about me, but Eleanor with her big blue eyes, darling dimples and charm that would sweep the queen off her feet definitely is a star in our neighborhood.

Two days ago I was buying milk at a grocery store. Unfortunately, their card machine wasn’t working. So, they told me to just come back later to pay. Could you imagine this happening at your local store? Another local store I know keeps a list of the people who owe him. It’s like pioneer days. I love it!

Another time I was walking down the street minding my own business. (I realize all of these sentences sound like I’m about to tell a joke) A woman ran out of the local print shop with a roll of tape. A few days before this incident Eleanor and I were strolling down the street and one of the front wheels came off her stroller, unfortunately, not for the first time. I popped into the print shop, bought some tape, and taped that bad boy with all the gusto I could muster. In my joy at solving our problem I left the tape in the shop, thus the reason for the woman running with the roll of tape. I employed one of my new language learning strategies on her. In these early days, instead of learning verbs and nouns for opposite things, I just remember one and then negate it when necessary. So, in this situation instead of saying to her, “Oh, I forgot it!” I simply said, “Oh, I didn’t remember it.” Genius? Why thank you.

Today new adventures await me. I wonder what shenanigans this happy girl and I will get in to.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blessed, Cultural Mishaps, Culture, European Travel, Our Daily Life, Pregnancy and Baby, To learn, Uncategorized, We love this land

Leave a Reply

